European Territorial Co-Operation Programmes


The Atlantic Area covers the western part of Europe bordering the Atlantic Ocean. It comprises the following 37 regions from the western part UK, Ireland and Portugal as well as the northern and south westernmost part of Spain and western France:

  • France: Haute-Normandie, Basse-Normandie, Pays-de-la-Loire, Bretagne, Poitou Charentes, Aquitaine
  • Ireland: Northern and Western, Midland and Eastern, Southern
  • Portugal: Norte, Algarve, Centro, Lisboa, Alentejo, Região Autónoma das Açores, Região Autónoma de Madeira
  • Spain: Galicia, Principado de Asturias, Cantabria, Navarra, País Vasco, Andalucía (Huelva, Cádiz and Sevilla), Islas Canarias
  • United Kingdom: Cumbria, Cheshire, Lancashire, Gloucestershire, Wiltshire and Bristol/Bath Area, Dorset and Somerset, Cornwall and Isles of Sicily, Devon, West Wales and the Valleys, East Wales, South Western Scotland, Highlands and Islands, Northern Ireland

The Programme’s strategy for the Atlantic Area in the 2014-2020 is set up as follows:

Priority Axis 1: Stimulating innovation and competitiveness (Thematic Objective 1)

  • Specific Objective 1.1: Enhancing innovation capacity through cooperation to foster competitiveness
  • Specific Objective 1.2: Strengthening the transfer of innovation results to facilitate the emergence of new products, services and processes

Priority Axis 2: Fostering resource efficiency (Thematic Objective 4 and Thematic Objective 6)

  • Specific Objective 2.1: Fostering renewable energies and energy efficiency
  • Specific Objective 2.2: Fostering Green Growth, eco-innovation and environmental efficiency

Priority Axis 3: Strengthening the Territory’s resilience to risks of natural, climate and human origin (Thematic Objective 5)

  • Specific Objective 3.1: Strengthening risk management systems

Priority Axis 4: Enhancing biodiversity and the natural and cultural assets (Thematic Objective 6)

  • Specific Objective 4.1: Improving the protection of biodiversity and enhancing ecosystems’ services
  • Specific Objective 4.2: Enhancing natural and cultural assets to stimulate economic development
Budget: €140m

To view the web-site please click here

The Programme's mission for 2014-2020 is to produce measurable positive change in the North-West of Europe on three themes: Innovation, Low carbon and Resource and materials efficiency. To achieve its objectives, the Programme will co-finance co-operation projects with €370 million of the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).

Three themes - Five objectives:

1. Innovation:
  • To enhance innovation performance of enterprises throughout North-West Europe regions.
2. Low Carbon
  • To facilitate the implementation of low-carbon, energy and climate protection strategies in order to reduce GHG-emissions in North-West Europe
  • To facilitate the uptake of low carbon technologies, products, processes and services in sectors with high energy saving potential in order to reduce GHG-emissions in North-West Europe
  • To facilitate the implementation of transnational low-carbon solutions in transport systems in order to reduce GHG-emissions in North-West Europe.
3. Resource and materials efficiency
  • To optimise (re) use of material and natural resources in NWE.

To visit the New Europe web-site please click here

Top of Page