About Us


Northwest Universities European Unit Limited (NwUEU)

NwUEU was formed in March 2012 in order to continue the European activities previously undertaken by North West Universities Association, which formally closed on the 30th June 2012. The purpose of NwUEU is to act as a vehicle to facilitate the North West Higher Education Institutions (HEIs') future collective activity, engagement and representation in relation to European Structural Fund issues, as well as retain the technical expertise and support provision available to NW HE in relation to European activities upon the Association’s closure. five.

In addition to the ERDF-funded project which it administers and which are geographically focused on the North West region, the Unit also undertakes a range of activities in relation to the wider European agenda including providing HE stakeholders with technical, audit and compliance advice and guidance as well as representational, networking and lobbying activities.


Organisational Structure and Remit

The activities and operations of the Unit are overseen by a Management Group comprised of representatives of the original co-funding HEIs and other co-opted Universities and is supported by a technical group network comprising European Practitioners drawn from across the NW HEI sector.

  • University of Central Lancashire
  • University of Cumbria
  • University of Chester
  • Keele University
  • Edge Hill University
  • Liverpool John Moores
  • Lancaster University
  • University of Manchester
  • Manchester Metropolitan University